Grades 7 & 8 Religion


January 2019

As we welcome the new year our 7th and 8th grade students will begin some new and exciting topics! 

7th Grade will begin by analyzing and learning what the petitions are in the Lord's Prayer. The Lord's Prayer summarizes the teachings of Jesus in the four Gospels, it is sometimes referred to as the little Gospel. In the first three petitions we praise God and ask that God always be prayed and glorified. In the final four petitions we express our needs and our desire to be close to God. Students will delve into the deeper meaning behind this oft recited prayer. Later in the month we will begin to understand Jesus' use of Parables as a method of teaching. We will learn the different types of parables, how to seek out the symbolism and how to understand the lessons taught therein.

8th Grade will begin to learn about the development of the Church's liturgy and liturgical customs of the early Christians of both the East and West. This will lead us to the schism and the Crusades. 

Both classes will continue to be quizzed/tested on the material covered, but please be assured all tests and quizzes are based on their notes. Please continue to encourage your student to review their notes often.

Always feel free to contact me with any questions! 



 "So I say to you, Ask and it will be given to you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened for you.
- Jesus of Nazareth


“If we are worth anything, it is not because we have more money or more talent, or more human qualities. Insofar as we are worth anything, it is because we are grafted onto Christ’s life, his cross and resurrection. That is a person’s measure.”

― St. Oscar Romero




The Six tasks of catechesis as six key elements of Catholic life so as to help young disciples in formation to realize the intimate connection between our Catholic faith and life. These six key elements of Catholic life “constitute a unified whole by which catechesis seeks to achieve its objective: the formation of disciples of Jesus Christ.” These six key elements are:

Key Element I: Knowledge of Faith
Key Element II: Sacraments and Liturgy

Key Element III: Morality: How We Live
Key Element IV: Prayer: How We Pray
Key Element V: Education for Living in the Christian Community
Key Element VI: Evangelization and Apostolic Life









Mrs. Mary Johnson - Grades 7 & 8 Religion